THIS article brought home the havoc caused by Modernization,as far as birds are concerned, though many other animals like Monkeys etc are also affected.The absence of trees in the concrete jungles,is acute.

http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/open-page/article3340120.ece?homepage=true

It is easy to bring the birds back,albeit in smaller numbers.I
have converted my house into a “small forest”,by doing simple and
ordinary things.The Cuckoo, Magpie, Sun-bird,the inevitable House
Sparrow and Mynah,parrots,Red Bul Bul,Indian Robin etc are a constant presence
here.There’s another bird which coos constantly,but I am searching for
its name.The Bees build Hives and this is the fifth
one,now.Butterflies and different kinds of Bees and wasps zoom
around….Water is necessary for all the above.I also,offer them snacks and biscuits.The salient features of the “small forest” are:-
1.A very big neem tree.
2.A smaller berry tree.
3.Almost constant water flow[keep the tap open or have a pond,vessel
for water.Refill and replenish.].WATER IS A MUST ….
4.Many almond trees,with one big one.
Only a very small portion of the compound is “cemented”…
Where there is a will there’s a way.

I felt,like, updating this post….

18/11/2012:-

The birds are still around.The good news is the   new arrival new chicks, among,at least the  Sparrows.The baby Sparrows fear me less and often come near me.

The Bees have built yet another Hive.The Berries,which attract the Birds, have started forming.Almonds are also being produced more now.

A new bird with a high-pitched shriek,has been quite friendly and calls out to me in the morning and evening for food.It recognizes the “sound” ,like flushing water etc,in my House and calls out to me.

One Cuckoo was quite friendly with me,and was on the trees of my House,for almost the whole day,with its very sweet cooing.But the neighbours,seem to have driven it away.Now a days I miss this very intelligent bird.

Will be updated……..

